RECOMMENDED NEWS  North West Health MEC Congratulates Miss SA Finalist

Sho Madjozi’s golden debut at the SAMAS

0 88

Sho Madjozi’s star continued to shine brighter when she won two awards at the 25th South African Music Awards (Samas) in Sun City, on Saturday night.

Madjozi bagged herself the newcomer of the year and female artist of the year awards.

Bet award winner Sjava, was another big winner, walking away with the hotly-contested best afro pop album and the most sought after best album of the year awards for Umqhele.

Black Coffee won the male artist of the year award and the best collaboration award on the first night of the awards for his song Drive with David Guetta. 

Black Motion also took home awards for the best dance album and best duo/group categories.

Nasty C walked away with the best produced album of the year for Strings and Bling on the first night and took another award for the best hip-hop album.

RECOMMENDED NEWS  Gerard Scholtz to talk his book


Best Adult Contemporary Album: Ard Matthews – Impossible Machines

Best African Adult Contemporary Album: Nathi- Iphupha Labantu

Best Alternative Album: Nakhane – You Will Not Die

Best R&b/soul Album: Zonke – L.o.v.e

Best Reggae Album: Black Dillinger – Mavara Is King

Best Contemporary Faith Music Album: We Will Worship – Seasons Volume 1

Beste Kontemporêre Musiek Album: Coenie De Villiers – Pure Coenie

Best Jazz Album: Bokani Dyer Trio – Neo Native

Rest of Africa Award: Diamond Platinumz – A Boy From Tandale

Best Live Audio Visual Recording of the Year: Cassper Nyovest – Fill Up Orlando Stadium – Robin Kohl

Best Collaboration: Black Coffee Feat. David Guetta and Delilah Montagu – Drive

RECOMMENDED NEWS  Reels on Instagram launched to take on Tik-Tok

Music Video of the Year: Jeremy Loops – Gold by Robert Smith

Best Produced Album of the Year: Nasty C – Strings and Bling by Nsikayesizwe David Junior Ngcobo, Sipho Dlamini and Collin Gayle

Best Engineered Album of the Year: Vusi Nova – Manyan-nyan by Robin Walsh

Remix of the Year: Zakwe – Sebentin by Cassper Nyovest, Hhp, Blaklez, Kwesta and Musiholiq

Best Selling DVD: Joyous Celebration 22 All for You

Best Selling Artist: Joyous Celebration – Umoya Kulendawo

Samro/capasso Highest Airplay Composer’s Award: Lady Zamar -Collide

Samro/capasso Best Selling Digital Artist Composer’s Award: Joyous Celebration – Umoya Kulendawo

Sampra Highest Airplay of the Year Award: Lady Zamar -Collide

Best Traditional Faith Music Album: Spirit of Praise – Spirit of Praise Vol.7

Best African Indigenous Faith Music Album:  Ithemba Le-africa – Sesiphunyukile

RECOMMENDED NEWS  Bet Icon Award for Tyler Perry

Best Traditional Album: Candy – Hupenyu Unenge Viri

Best Kwaito/gqom/amapiano Album: Spikiri – King Don Father

Best Afro Pop Album: Sjava – Umqhele

Beste Pop Album: Snotkop- Sous

Best Pop Album: Tresor – Nostalgia

Best Rock Album: Dan Patlansky – Perfection Kills

Best Hip Hop Album: Nasty C – Strings and Bling

Best Dance Album: Black Motion – Moya Wa Taola

Best Maskandi Album: Sgwebo Sentambo -Yekani Umona

Newcomer of the Year: Sho Madjozi – Limpopo Champions League

Duo or Group of the Year: Black Motion – Moya Wa Taola

Female Artist of the Year: Sho Madjozi – Limpopo Champions League

Male Artist of the Year: Black Coffee – Music Is King

Album of the Year: Sjava – Umqhele

Lifetime Achievers Award: Tkzee, Mango Groove and HHP